Memorial Day 2014 at Meuse-Argonne American Cemetery

Rear Admiral Christenson greets the flag bearers during the 2014 Memorial Day Ceremony at Meuse-Argonne American Cemetery in France.

The Memorial Day Ceremony at Meuse-Argonne American Cemetery in France honored the more than 15,000 individuals buried and memorialized at this site. The ceremony events included:

  • Welcome Remarks by Meuse-Argonne American Cemetery Superintendent David Bedford
  • Introductory Remarks by Col. Peter Herrly (ret.)
  • Invocation by Elie Bendelac, Verdun Israelite Community and Lt. Col. Michael Klein, U.S. Army, Deputy Chaplain, European Command
    • Remarks by Nicolas Raffa, Mayor of Romagne-sous-Montfaucon
    • Memorial Address by Rear Admiral John Christenson, Chief of Staff, U.S. European Command
    • Benediction by Monsieur l’abbé Marc Johnson
    • Laying of Wreaths
    • Minute of Silence followed by French and American Taps
    • National Anthems
    • Closing Remarks by Col. Herrly (ret.)

    Supporting Organizations and Military Units:
    French Band: Band of the Armored Cavalry
    French Troops: 1st Armored Infantry Regiment
    French Cavalry Men: Equestrian Platoon of Verdun Defense Base
    Joint Color Guard: U.S. European Command
    Meuse Department Firemen
    Gendarmerie Nationale, Meuse Department

    Groups that Laid Wreaths During the Ceremony:

    Le représentant du Gouvernement Français, Monsieur Merignargues Sous-préfet de Verdun Le représentant des Forces Armées Américaines Rear Admiral Christenson
    Le représentant de l’Armée Française, Colonel Mienville, Délégué Militaire de la Meuse Le représentant de l’American Battle Monuments Commission, Monsieur Bedford
    Le President du Conseil Regional De Lorraine par Monsieur Thomas Le President du Conseil General De La Meuse par Monsieur Cordonnier
    Commune de Romagne-Sous-Montfaucon par Monsieur Bertholet Ville de Verdun par Monsieur Jacquinot
    Sapeurs-Pompiers de la Meuse par Le Colonel Berthouin Commune de Montfaucon D'argonne par Monsieur Beausoleil
    Commune de Varennes-En-Argonne par Monsieur Lambert Commune de Dun-Sur-Meuse par Monsieur Jacquet
    Commune de Doulcon par Monsieur Plun Commune de Cunel par Monsieur Sibille
    Commune de Nantillois par Monsieur Nanan Commune de Brieulles-Sur-Meuse par Monsieur Autret
    Commune des Islettes par Monsieur Delinette Commune de Liny-devant-Dun par Monsieur Lalle Ment
    Commune de Bantheville par Monsieur Nicolet Commune de Cierges-Sous-Montfaucon par Monsieur Devresse
    Commune de Gesnes-en-Argonne par Monsieur Venet Commune d’Epinonville par Monsieur Trassart
    Commune de Landre Et Saint Georges par Monsieur Genty Commune de Milly-sur-Bradon par Monsieur Doury
    Ceux De Verdun par Monsieur Lefort Souvenir Français – Comite De Montfaucon par Monsieur Vion
    Souvenir Français – Comite De Saint-Dizier par Monsieur Crochete Democrats Abroad par Madame Matison
    Les Amis De Vauquois par Monsieur Jeannesson A. N. C. Villerupt par Madame Cavigli
    Anciens Combattants De Romagne-Sous-Montfaucon par Mr Julien Kreis-Jugend-Bündnis Limburg-Weilburg par Mr. Steinerbrunner
    L’American Overseas Memorial Day Association par Colonel (er) Peter Herrly