Fred T. Aker

World War II
Service #44033086
RankPrivate, U.S. Army
Unit36th Armored Infantry Regiment, 3rd Armored Division
Entered Service From
Date of DeathApril 17, 1945
Buried Plot L Row 8 Grave 13
Netherlands American Cemetery
Margraten, Netherlands

Bronze Star

The Bronze Star Medal was established by an Executive Order of 4 February 1944 superseded by an Executive Order of 24 August amended by an Executive Order on 28 February 2003. It is awarded to a person who, while serving with or in the United States Army after 6 December 1941, distinguished himself or herself by heroic or meritorious achievement or service in connection with military operations against an armed enemy, or while engaged in military operations against an opposing armed force wherein the United States was not a belligerent party. Actions while in aerial flight are not covered by this award. Awards for acts of heroism rank immediately behind the Silver Star. Awards for acts of merit or meritorious service rank immediately behind the Legion of Merit. Provisions exist for retroactive awards covering the period 7 December 1941 through 1 July 1947, based upon citations in orders, related awards and certificates, and unit awards.

Purple Heart

The Purple Heart is awarded to members of the Armed Forces of the United States who after 5 April 1917 have been wounded or killed in action against an enemy of the United States or an opposing armed force, while serving with friendly foreign forces engaged in an armed conflict, as the result of acts of enemy or hostile opposing forces, as a result of terrorist attacks or attacks on peacekeeping forces since 28 March 1973, or by friendly fire in circumstance as described above.

European-African-Middle Eastern Campaign Medal

The European-African-Middle Eastern Campaign Medal was established by Executive Order on 6 November 1942 as amended on 15 March 1946. It is awarded to members of the United States Armed Forces for service in the European-African- Middle Eastern Theater between 7 December 1941 and 8 November 1945. Service must have been: with a unit during a period in which it participated in combat, under orders to the combat zone and awarded a combat award; under orders to the combat zone and in receipt of a certificate stipulating combat participation from a corps command equivalent or higher, under orders to the combat zone and serving at a normal post of duty, aboard a ship in other than passenger status and certified by the home port commander as having served in the combat zone, or as an evadee, escapee or recovered prisoner of war in the combat zone . One bronze service star may be affixed for participation in each constituent official campaign. An arrowhead device may be affixed for participation in a combat parachute jump, helicopter assault landing, combat glider landing, or amphibious assault landing.

World War II Victory Medal

The World War II Victory Medal, established by Act of Congress on 6 July 1945, is awarded for military service between 7 December 1941 and 31 December 1946, both dates inclusive.

Combat Infantryman Badge

The Combat Infantryman Badge was approved by the Secretary of the Army on 7 October 1943, and guidance with respect it amended on 8 February 1952, 1 December 1967, 11 February 2005 and 24 June 2008. It is awarded to infantrymen (infantry or Special Forces military occupational specialties) who since 6 December 1941, while assigned to an infantry unit of brigade size or less, have actively participated in ground combat in which their unit has been engaged. The infantryman must have been personally present, under hostile fire, serving in an assigned infantry or Special Forces duty, and must have fulfilled that duty satisfactorily. Service members of other U.S. Armed Forces or foreign forces assigned or attached to a U.S. infantry unit and fulfilling these requirements may be eligible.

Bronze Star, Purple Heart, Combat Infantryman Badge, European Theater of Operations Medal with 3 Bronze Service Stars, World War II Victory Medal and Bronze Service Medal