George D. Keathley

World War II
Service #38105361
RankStaff Sergeant, U.S. Army
Unit338th Infantry Regiment, 85th Infantry Division
Entered Service From
Date of DeathSeptember 14, 1944
Buried Plot D Row 11 Grave 26
Florence American Cemetery
Impruneta, Italy

Medal of Honor (Army)

The Medal of Honor (Army) was established by Joint Resolution of Congress on 12 July 1862, as amended on 9 July 1918 and 25 July 1963. It is awarded by the President of the United States in the name of Congress to a member of the Army who distinguishes himself or herself by gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of his or her life above and beyond the call of duty while engaged in an action against an enemy of the United States, while engaged in military operations involving conflict with an opposing or foreign force, or while serving with friendly foreign forces engaged in an armed conflict against an opposing armed force in which the United States is not a belligerent party. The deed must have been of personal bravery or self-sacrifice so conspicuous as to clearly distinguish the individual from his or her comrades. In precedence for valor, the Medal of Honor is the nation’s highest award.

Bronze Star

The Bronze Star Medal was established by an Executive Order of 4 February 1944 superseded by an Executive Order of 24 August amended by an Executive Order on 28 February 2003. It is awarded to a person who, while serving with or in the United States Army after 6 December 1941, distinguished himself or herself by heroic or meritorious achievement or service in connection with military operations against an armed enemy, or while engaged in military operations against an opposing armed force wherein the United States was not a belligerent party. Actions while in aerial flight are not covered by this award. Awards for acts of heroism rank immediately behind the Silver Star. Awards for acts of merit or meritorious service rank immediately behind the Legion of Merit. Provisions exist for retroactive awards covering the period 7 December 1941 through 1 July 1947, based upon citations in orders, related awards and certificates, and unit awards.

Purple Heart

The Purple Heart is awarded to members of the Armed Forces of the United States who after 5 April 1917 have been wounded or killed in action against an enemy of the United States or an opposing armed force, while serving with friendly foreign forces engaged in an armed conflict, as the result of acts of enemy or hostile opposing forces, as a result of terrorist attacks or attacks on peacekeeping forces since 28 March 1973, or by friendly fire in circumstance as described above.

Medal of Honor, Bronze Star, Purple Heart