Robert L. Ord Sworn In as ABMC Commissioner

Retired Lt. Gen. Robert L. Ord, III, who served 34 years in the Army, was sworn in as a commissioner for the American Battle Monuments Commission (ABMC) on October 16, 2018. Appointed by President Donald Trump in August 2018, Ord, in his role as ABMC Commissioner, will work to provide strategy guidance to fulfill the agency mission.

As a commissioner, Ord serves for an indefinite term and receives no compensation. From the time of ABMC’s establishment in 1923 during the Warren G. Harding Administration, a board of commissioners has always existed and played a role in the history of the agency. From Gold Star Mothers to war veterans to General of the Armies John J. Pershing, the board of commissioners has included people who represent a vested interest in how our nation honors its fallen. As a veteran, Ord brings an important perspective to this group.

He served more than three decades in the Army in Infantry command and staff assignments, culminating as commanding general of U.S. Army Pacific. After retiring from the Army in 1996, he served in a variety of roles to include a distinguished senior fellow of the Center for Civil Military Relations at the Naval Postgraduate School (NPS). In 2002, he was named dean of the School of International Graduate Studies at NPS, a position held until 2008. He served simultaneously as founding director of the Global Center for Security Cooperation (GCSC), a Department of Defense organization at NPS, and directed GCSC until retiring from federal service in 2009.

Ord, who is a native of New Jersey, resides in Carmel, California with his family. He graduated from West Point with a B.S. degree and has a Industrial Management from Georgia Tech. He is a graduate of the Army War College and completed senior executive courses at Harvard and Penn State. He wears the Ranger tab, Parachutist Badge and Combat Infantryman Badge. His military decorations include the Distinguished Service Medal, Silver Star, Defense Superior Service Medal, Legions of Merit, and Bronze Star and Air Medals for Valor.

Ord joins Chairman David John Urban and Commissioners Jennifer Sandra Carroll, Benjamin L. Cassidy Dorothy Gray, Thomas O. Hicks, John P. McGoff, Luis Rodolfo Quinonez, Evans C. Spiceland and Robert O. Wefald.

About the American Battle Monuments Commission:

Established by Congress in 1923, the American Battle Monuments Commission commemorates the service, achievements, and sacrifice of U.S. armed forces. ABMC administers 26 overseas military cemeteries, and 29 memorials, monuments, and markers.